About us

Posted on

Saarene – Saarland Center for Energy Materials and Sustainability is an organization of the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Technology of Saarland University, established on September 21st, 2021. We are dedicated to research and technology development and transfer for energy and sustainability. Saarene interfaces both with researchers at Saarland University and non-university research institutes in Saarland. Our research field includes, but is not limited to:

  • Electrochemical energy storage
  • Electrochemical water technology
  • Membrane technology
  • Electrocatalysis
  • Sustainable materials and their synthesis
  • Recycling

The Central Council is the governing body of saarene and consists of the following people:

  • Prof. Ralf Busch
  • Prof. Stefan Diebels
  • Dr. Guido Falk
  • Prof. Markus Gallei
  • Prof. Christopher Kay
  • Prof. Guido Kickelbick
  • Prof. Karen Lienkamp
  • Prof. Christian Motz
  • Prof. Volker Presser
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Vielhaber
  • Prof. David Scheschkewitz

saarene is led by co-directors Prof. Gallei und Prof. Presser